INATBA Publishes a Joint Report with the European Commission on Blockchain Standardisation

Find the report download form at the bottom of this page

INATBA, the International Association for Trusted Blockchain Applications, is committed to serving as a convener of critical conversations on global standards for blockchain and other DLT. Its Standards Committee, co-chaired by Ismael Arribas, Monique Bachner and Gilbert Verdian, works closely with global standards-setting bodies to educate INATBA Members about the critical role of standards and how they can be involved in international efforts. The Standards Committee has hosted numerous roundtables on this topic, including a virtual event on the role of linguistic and cultural barriers in developing global blockchain infrastructure.

To continue these activities, INATBA and the European Commission hosted an online webinar, “Joining Forces for Blockchain Standardisation 2021.” The event convened standards-setting and technical specification bodies such as ISO, IEC, ITU-T, CEN/CENELEC, ETSI, IEEE, and regional bodies like EBP/EBSI, LACChain and national authorities from countries including Japan, India, Korea, USA, Brazil for a day-long workshop. The event consisted of presentations and panels to discuss progress made, ongoing challenges, and collaboration opportunities. The workshop served as a starting point for 2022 thematic discussions related to Smart Contracts, Identity, Governance, Interoperability and CBDC/crypto assets. The key take-aways were several-fold, mainly to ensure:

  • Interoperability.
  • Safety and stability.
  • Localisation of conformity in the different regions.
  • Inclusivity.
  • Incentives and public support for the participation of relevant experts and under-represented stakeholders.
  • The right model of governance.

INATBA Secretariat and the Standards Committee co-chairs, Monique Bachner, Ismael Arribas and Gilbert Verdian thank their esteemed guests for their participation at the event:

Roman Beck (European Blockchain Center)

Gayan Benedict (Industry Fellow UTS)

Tom De Block (IT Quality & Governance, SWIFT, National Bank of Belgium, SCHENGEN SIS)

Julien Bringer (Convener of the Security, Privacy and Identity Working Groups of ISO Standardization Committee TC307 on Blockchain and Distributed Ledger Technologies)

Andrea Caccia (CEN/CENELEC Joint Technical Committee on Blockchain and Distributed Ledger Technologies)

Waqar Chaudry (Markets Financial Services Regulatory Authority, FSRA)

Robert Czarny (EBSI)

Craig Dunn (ISO Technical Committee Blockchain and Distributed Ledger Technologies)

Thomas Hardjono (CTO of Connection Science and Technical Director of the MIT Trust-Data Consortium)

Ivan Herman (Publishing@W3C Technical Lead)

Shiori Hiiragi (Foundation for Promotion of Digital Economy and Community, JIPDEC)

Paul Jackson (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)

Albi Rodriguez Jaramillo (LACChain)

Wei Kai (ITU-T Study Group 16 Q22 Rapporteur Secretary/General of TBI, CAICT)

Helen Köpman (DG CONNECT)

Rapolas Lakavičius (DG CONNECT)

Claudio Lima (IEEE Blockchain Transactive Energy, BCTE)

Diego Lopez (ETSI ISG PDL)

Suzana Maranhao Moreno (BNDES, ITU/UN)

Pietro Marchionni (EBSI Agenzia per l’Italia Digitale)

Pierre Marro (DG CONNECT)

Chaals Nevile (OASIS)

Kyeong Hee Oh (TCA Services, Q14 Security aspects for DLT in SG-17 at ISO South Korea)

Ramesh Ramadoss (IEEE Blockchain Initiative)

Sandra Ro (Global Blockchain Business Council)

Ashish Tiwari (“Electronics and IT” Standardization Department of BIS, ISO/IEC/JTC1/SC7 Software and Systems Engineering Subcommittee)

Ray Walshe (Professor of Emerging Technology Standards)


If you are interested in directly influencing the work on global standards for blockchain and other DLT, join the Standards Committee! Please email us at


Access the full report here: